Belt Ranks

Significance of Belt Colors

The ITF ranking system consists of six belts: white, yellow, green, blue, red and black. White is given to beginners and black is given to students who have progressed through the grades and have a solid foundation for learning the techniques of Tae Kwon-Do.

    • 10th gup (white)
    • 9th gup (white with yellow stripe)
    • 8th gup (yellow)
    • 7th gup (yellow with green stripe)
    • 6th gup (green)
    • 5th gup (green with blue stripe)
    • 4th gup (blue)
    • 3rd gup (blue with red stripe)
    • 2nd gup (red)
    • 1st gup (red with a black stripe)
    • 1st-3rd dan (black) with the title of Assistant Instructor (Boo-sabum)
    • 4th-6th dan (black) with the title of Instructor (Sabum)
    • 7th-8th dan (black) with the title of Master (Sahyun)
    • 9th dan (black) with the title of Grand Master (Saseong)

Note – community service is encouraged throughout promotion and is required at Black Belt

The definitions of the belts are as follows:
  • White Belt

    Signifies innocence, as that of the beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Tae Kwon-Do.

  • Yellow Belt

    Signifies the earth from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the foundation of Tae Kwon-Do is being laid.

  • Green Belt

    Signifies the plant’s growth as Tae Kwon-Do skills begin to develop.

  • Blue Belt

    Signifies the Heaven towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Tae Kwon-Do progresses.

  • Red Belt

    Signifies Danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.

  • Black Belt

    Opposite of white, therefore signifying the maturity and proficiency in Tae Kwon-Do, also indicates the wearer’s imperviousness to darkness and fear.